A little rant here, a little rant there.

First of all, I am sure many of you know about the impending Teen Grid Merger, if not click there. So anyways, the first thing I would like to say here is that I have absolutely nothing against minors coming onto the Main grid. My concerns have very little to do with their maturity, creativity or lack there of. My concerns are solely based in the legal area of it all. What Precautions are going to be in place to protect adults from being accused of pedophilia/hebephillia or the like? It’s not exactly hard for a minor to steal his or her parent’s information, or even ask permission to use it for various reasons, so it wouldn’t be too hard for a minor to easily lie about their age. There was a safety net for adults in place for this. It was called separation of the grids, and if a teen snuck onto the Main grid, he or she would be at fault if anything were to happen, since you know, everyone on the main grid is supposed to be a minimum of 18 years of age. Now, with the merging of the grids what safeguards do we have here? It would seem none. I am of the opinion that Linden Labs needs to at least put an identifier on the minors like a tag by their name that reads “Teen” or some such thing, or even have their age listed in their profiles. Yes, it would still be easy for a minor to get their parents information and lie about this, however, we would still have the safety net to fall back on that their age is in their profile, and they lied about their age to gain access to such and such content. Now, I may be a known pervert and flirt, however, I am not some sick bastard who goes off to have one night stands with anything that walks, and I feel I should not have to overly cautious in my speech. I am, by nature a heavy flirt, and if someone flirts with me, I’ll flirt back. It’s just the way I am. Doesn’t mean that anything is going to come of it. It’s just me being myself. However, me being a tame version of me could easily be taken out of context and land my tail in jail. Something I don’t particularly want to do for the sake of a virtual world. Am I going to leave Second Life? Not bloody likely. Will I be more cautious with who I flirt with? You betcha, but I’m not so good with the brain filter. I havn’t figured out how to install it yet. So from this point on, until safeguards are put into place, I am accepting applications from anyone wishing to flirt with me from this point on. Peace.

~ by Hideyuki Ichtama on August 25, 2010.

Leave a comment